top of page


Jens Thomas, singer-songwriter, pianist and improvisation artist. Born in 1970 in Braunschweig, studied jazz piano with Dieter Glawischnig at the Musikhochschule in Hamburg.


Since 1994 he was playing concerts as a soloist and with the group „Triocolor“, at first in Germany, since 1996 numerous tours for the Goethe Institute on all continents. Later he was touring as a duo with the saxophonist Christof Lauer and in trio with the Sardinian musicians Paolo Fresu and Antonelli Salis.
In the early 2000s, Jens Thomas recorded several successful jazz albums for the renowned label ACT (including "Plays Ennio Morricone“). He received awards  (SWR Jazzpreis, Int. Jazzpreis Nürnberg, Kunstförderpreis Niedersachsen, "Choc de l’année Jazzman“, German Record Critic`s Award quarter-year list) and was invited to well known jazz festivals like Montreux, Paris, Berlin, Helsinki, Frankfurt, piano summer Munich.
When Jens Thomas improvised the stage music in 2003 in the legendary "Othello" production by Luk Perceval at the Münchner Kammerspiele, he discovered his own voice and in the following years he became a singer, songwriter and theatre composer.
In 2005-2007 he was an artist in residence at the Schauspielhaus Bochum, where he improvised concerts/performances with numerous guests from various genres in his own concert series "PianoVoices“. In this period he recorded the solo album "Goethe! Gesang der Geister". After further compositions and performances for theatre plays (including Burgtheater Wien, Bayrisches Staatsschauspiel, Nationaltheater Weimar), the album "Speed ​​of Grace" was created in 2012, in which he transformed the hard rock of AC/DC into chamber music ballads. He performed this project live with Verneri Pohjola on trumpet at festivals in Hamburg, Istanbul, Moscow and Newcastle.
Jens Thomas composed and recorded the music for the NDR documentary films „Tod auf dem Hochsitz/Death on the high seat" (2010), "Blitzeis-Das Warten auf Katrin/„Black Ice-Waiting for Katrin“(2014) and „Der Junge und der Maskenmann/The Boy and the Mask Man" (2017) by Michael Heuer.
Since 2013 Jens Thomas is been touring with the actor Matthias Brandt and the programs „Psycho“, „Angst“ and „Life- Raumpatrouille & Memory Boy“, and since 2015 with the actress Fritzi Haberlandt („Das Kunstseidene Mädchen“). In September of 2016 he released his current album "Memory Boy" at Roofmusic.
bottom of page